Isaiah 30:18-23

This is my favorite scripture, so I decided I’d share it with everyone.  It really speaks to me.  I figure that the things that you really connect with are those things that speak a to some sort of truth about yourself.

I haven’t been to church (not counting when I visit my family in Iowa) in a long time.  I’ve been doing the whole “I’m Spiritual not religious” thing.  And honestly, I’d have to say the closest thing to religion in my life today is Yoga (even though I don’t practice ALL the austere philosophy) mixed with Process Theology (look it up–I’d recommend Beyond the Impasse: The Promise of a Process Hermeneutic by Ronald Farmer [a former professor of mine] or anything by John Cobb.)

But, I used to read the bible everyday when I woke up and before I went to bed.  I’ve read it cover to cover.  I’ve read the New Testament more times than I can count.  I own 3 bibles.  Right up through college I was an every Sunday church attendee.

The following passages (Isaiah 30:18-23) are the most marked up verses in my bibles.  By “marked up,” I mean have the most inset handwritten notes around them.  (I write in anything and everything I read.  Borrow a book and you’ll see…)

I don’t know exactly what these verses say about me. But if ya’ want to know anything about me on a spiritual level, then read it.  Hey, who knows it may speak to you too!

“Therefore the Lord will wait, that He may be gracious to you;

And therefore He will be exalted, that He may have mercy on you.

For the LORD is a God of justice;

Blessed are all those who wait for Him.

For the people shall dwell in Zion at Jerusalem;

You shall weep no more.

He will be very gracious to you ar the sound of your cry;

When He hears it, He will answer you.

And though the Lord gives you

The bread of adversity and the water of affliction,

Yet your teachers will not be moved into a corner anymore.

But your eyes shall see your teachers.

Your ears shall hear a word behind you, saying,

‘This is the way, walk in it,’

Whenever you turn to the right hand

Or whenever you turn to the left .

You will also defile the covering of your images of silver,

And the ornament of your molded images of gold.

You will throw them away as an unclean thing;

You will say to them, ‘Get away!’

Then He will give the rain for your seed

With which you sow the ground,

And bread of the increase of the earth;

It will be fat an plentiful.”

I have found that these words have a trul healing power.  They calm my spirit and give me a peace of mind, heart, body, and soul that I know only comes from The Holy.

I fill with PASSION every time I read these verses.  I tear up and begin to cry as well.  I can FEEL their POWER!  The writer of Isaiah had mad skills!  😉

About heathencomehome

question marks & ellipses
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

