‘So…’

I’m really working on not starting my musings–written or spoken or emailed or texted or any other linguistic communication–with “so…”

I noticed recently that I do this a lot.  I feel like it is almost like a qualifier for what I’m about to say.  But, I don’t need that for my own thoughts, feelings, and opinions!  They are mine, dammit!  I don’t need to qualify, soften, or apologize for them at all in any way!

So, (hahahaha, there it is…) I looked up “so” on an online dictionary just now.  Here’s what I got…

–adverb

1.

in the way or manner indicated, described, or implied: Do itso.
2.

in that or this manner or fashion; thus: So it turned out.
3.

in the aforesaid state or condition: It is broken and has longbeen so.
4.

to the extent or degree indicated or suggested: Do not walkso fast.
5.

Informal . very or extremely: I’m so sad.
6.

very greatly: My head aches so!
7.

(used before an adverb or an adverbial clause and fol. by as) to such a degree or extent: so far as I know.
8.

having the purpose of: a speech so commemorating thevictory.
9.

for this or that reason; hence; therefore: She is ill, and socannot come to the party.
10.

(used as an affirmative to emphasize or confirm a previousstatement) most certainly: I said I would come, and so Iwill.
11.

(used as an emphatic affirmative to contradict a previousstatement) indeed; truly; too: I was so at the party!
12.

likewise or correspondingly; also; too: If he is going, then soam I.
13.

in such manner as to follow or result from: As he learned,so did he teach.
14.

in the way that follows; in this way: The audience wasseated, and so the famous speech began.
15.

in the way that precedes; in that way: So ended the speech,and the listeners arose and cheered.
16.

in such way as to end in: So live your life that old age willbring you no regrets.
17.

then; subsequently: and so to bed.

—Synonyms
9. See therefore.

…yeah, didn’t really get much there…but perhaps I’ll be using “therefore” a bit more 😉

Thus, (hehe, not a “so”)I am choosing to be much more mindful and conscious about stepping up and being assertive in my speaking and in my writing.

No more apologies for me!

yes indeedy, sweetie!

About heathencomehome

question marks & ellipses
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘So…’

  1. Marry Shaggy says:

    Thank you for sharing superb informations. Your site is so cool. I am impressed by the details that you have on this website. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for extra articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found just the information I already searched all over the place and just could not come across. What an ideal web site.

Leave a Reply

