Insights from reading about quantum physics, mathematics, and origins of the universe…

Why do we (used loosely to mean society/education system) teach math to children before even introducing them to logic, philosophy…before allowing and encouraging questions instead of answers?  Children have a philosophy.  We all do.  We all have an outlook on life and questions about it from the very beginning.  We are continually searching for that ‘why are we here.’  HOwever, that is negated so early on for so many of us that I feel it is not allowed to develop healthily.

Early childhood education should be based upon questions…perhaps “grading” (if even that, because that is such a loaded word and completely different topic for discussion that I will save for another day…) on a student’s/child’s questions rather than his or her answers.

Questions lead to discoveries.  Discoveries are far more exciting than answers.  Innovations are more in demand and more useful than answers.

Had I been introduced to early philosophies, math would have made more sense and been more fun.  I’d have seen the vitality of math, physics, science…And I liked and did well at math anyway…Just think where this approach would have led me.

Philosophy and nature and spiritual introduction before the so-called “basics” is what education is needing.  THe other way around is just too time-consuming, inefficient, and non-productive.  Inspire students/children to read and write before arbitrarily forcing them to do these things to “make the grade.”

I hated writing as a kid.  I was a slow reader and so I did not read much at all until I was nearly out of high school.  I thought I was not good at them.  Now, those are the two things I do all the time to get closer to myself.  THose are two of the most therapeutic things I do.  But, it is because I now have things that inspire me to write….and things that inspire me to learn more about.

I hated science even though I was pretty good at it.  I really hated physics in high school–even though I still got an A in the class.  I should have loved it–I mean, I was good at both math and science…on paper.  I just got the two subjects.   But I didn’t know why I “got” it.  Nor did I know how to help my friends “get” it.

I started studying yoga and philosophy and religions and spirituality and anthropology (both on my own and in college) and after a few years all of this led me to become really interested in learning a bit more about quantum physics.  But, that word “physics” still had me skeptical.  But, I now had the links!  Those things that linked all of the questions together.  Didn’t link them necessarily to answers….rather, my questions began to link to one another!  Questions about spirituality linking to quesions about physics!  Questions about cultures and behaviors linking to science.  Religion and science having an ever-blurring line of separation.

Questions began to link everything that I had studied.  THe answers didn’t.  Answers seem to like to categorize–staunchly.  Because then things have labels.  Questions make it difficult to label.  Questions mean you need a pencil with an eraser (or a keyboard with a delete button) rather than a permanent marker.

I wonder what it would have been like if I’d have seen these links earlier on…like, when I was still in school.  ANd I do not fault teachers because I now see that they perhaps have not even been able to question enough themselves either.

I often feel guilty questioning education because both of my parents are teachers.  WOnderful passionate insightful teachers!  I am not questioning their passion.  I know it is there.  I have seen and felt it.  Actually, I feel they could better channel that passion, insight, and inspiration if they were more encouraged to develop the questions within their students.  I feel this way about all teacher and education in general.

However, I am not on some reformist mission…just offering my feelings out there…as I write.  I am WRITING this!  And you know why?  Because of questions.  They fill my brain.  They needed outlet…in some form.  Questions have given me inspiration.  ANd, in a weird way, have also given me more of a stable ground than answers…

“I’m just letting the questions…set.”

About heathencomehome

question marks & ellipses
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Insights from reading about quantum physics, mathematics, and origins of the universe…

  1. D. Asahi says:

    I absolutely agree that motivation in education has everything to do with learning to value questions. That’s why it’s a tragedy that science has gained this reputation as a mere body of answers; it’s really a dynamic body of tentative knowledge that’s constantly being expanded and revised by the asking of questions.

    Richard Feynman, a physicist who won the Nobel prize for developing quantum electrodynamic theory, is a personal hero of mine. He once did an interview in which he addressed both education and science, and for me his views are spot-on. I normally don’t just throw youtube links at people, but I really think this is worthwhile (after 22 seconds)— http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ipd-lJ9rHDI#t=22s

Leave a Reply

