Dear Mr President

Dear Mr. President,

With the midterm elections having just taken place two days ago, I’ve been thinking a lot more about politics and government and my conscious choice to not be involved in that whole paradigm.

THe last election in which I participated was your election year.  I voted for you.  However, I think the person who really voted for you was the naive young teenager who first saw you speak at the 2004 Democratic National Convention.  I loved those words.  I don’t even remember what they were.  And, looking back, I probably only really liked the manner in which they were delivered.  Yes, you have a gift of rhetoric, and you use it well.  Or, at least you did…

I heard you speak and I wanted you to be my president.  So, naturally when you ran, the competitive spirit in me so very much wanted you to win because that would somehow make the 18-year-old me ‘right’ or victorious in some way–as if I had predicted it from 4 years prior.

But, I didn’t predict it.  I hate admitting to conspiracy theories, but the now 24-year-old me thinks it was all planned out from prior to that speech.

I choose not to participate in politics and as little governmental activity as possible because it all seems like a distraction from reality.  A distraction from all of the real life issues and experiences happening around us that YES we CAN affect!

I need not worry who is “representing” me.  I only need be vigilant of how I am representing me.  How I am living my life.  Am I being true to myself?  If so, great.  Then, why worry about whether Democrats or Republicans are in control of the Senate or the House.

I have a full understanding of how our government works (or is supposed to or comprised to work.)  I know all in theory all of the duties and responsibilities of congress, presidency and Supreme Court.  But, it all does seem so foreign to me…because it doesn’t seem like anything other than a circular process.  And I’m fine with that.

But, I don’t think most people are fine with that.  Most people want something to get done…but often times without anything changing.  Another circular dilemma.

You ran on a campaign of change.  So, my question for you is why has nothing changed?  That’s all I want to know.  I would be more inclined to participate in political/governmental activity if it seemed like something progressive.

I like to learn and grow and be challenged.  When things don’t change, they feel stagnant to me and I get bored and restless and anxious.  I feel like a lot of people are anxious right now.  They may say they do not want change.  But, a toddler doesn’t want to learn to go to the bathroom in a toilet, either.  THey are most often quite content wetting themselves and having someone clean up the mess.  THat doesn’t mean it is unnecessary for them to be potty-trained.  ANd that is a MAJOR change!

I’m just saying, CHANGE SOMETHING!  ANYTHING!  And this diatribe is not just to you…and not just to politicians or governmental figures.  It is to everyone and no one and myself all at the same time.

I do see things in a macrocosm/microcosm sense.  I do see our governmental structures as a macrocosmic view of how we organize our lives.  And since I choose not to organize my life in any way like the current operations of the governmental system, I therefor consciously choose to not participate in a any of its activities.  Because, that goes counter to how I like to not only structure my life, but my thoughts and subconscious wiring as well.

I am working consciously to change my inner programming.  And politics today is running counter to that.  However, I am not a fatalist or a pessimist.  I have hope.  I believe in the good of human nature.  I have full faith and fully trust humankind.  And politicians are humans.  So, I have hope.  And ‘hope’ is another thing that you used a lot in your campaign as well.  Was it this kind of hope about which I am speaking right now?

I have hope and trust and faith that people are inherently good and moral.  I believe we are all FULLY capable of making choices and decisions for ourselves.  I got in a near argument with someone the other day about this.  She did not agree that people could make their own decisions about their bodies and how they treat themselves.  That is a mindset I cannot even grasp onto.  Because even in disagreeing with her, I still had full faith in her own decision making even though I didn’t agree with it.  I don’t agree with prostitution, but I have a faith in those that choose to do it because it is their decision with their body.  I don’t agree with they way some people parent their children.  But I am not a parent and still have faith in the decision they make in raising their children.  I do not agree with our education system.  But I do have faith and hope in our teachers and educators and students.  I do not agree with the use of some prescription drugs.  But I have faith that some are necessary.  I do not agree with the use of some recreational drugs, but I have faith in people to make their own decisions regarding them if educated truthfully.  I also have faith and hope and change in all of these areas and much more.  Because all change that has happened in my life has always been miraculous and wondrous and FUN!

Then again, I’m only 24.

So, what are you going to change?!

About heathencomehome

question marks & ellipses
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dear Mr President

  1. Ashley M. says:

    I hope that Obama brings about the following changes:
    Healthcare Reform
    Repeal Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell
    Legalize Marriage For LGBT
    More Renewable Energy
    Decriminalize Marijuana

    I still hold great hope for these changes. Be patient. Things will happen in due time.

  2. I think this is your first political post. As you said politics isn’t something you feel terribly engaged in. That’s probably healthy.

    I wonder how much one person can do, even as president. Our government a system of checks and balances in place to keep any one person or branch from becoming too powerful, which is good. What’s bad is that we have this constrictive two-party system in a pissing match that’s more important to them than fixing the country. Personally, I don’t think we’ll see much change until a new party comes onto the scene.

    Always nice to read your thoughts.

    • I think my tone may have been lost in this. It was supposed to be a bit more sarcastic. But, I think I got serious somewhere along the way. I actually don’t expect any governmental figure to change anything. It really isn’t their job. It is our jobs to change the things in our own individual lives we can change. It was supposed to be my diatribe about how I don’t like or participate in politics and it took a different turn somewhere.
      I couldn’t care less about the direction of politics. I care more about the direction of human potential and how each of us as individuals and as a collective.
      Hmmmm, I smell another entry coming on…

Leave a Reply

