Mother’s Song

Please, Mom, shine down on me.

Give me a glow like to yours.

Make them see I am your child and you are my Creator.

You, Mother, formed me.

You held my hand first.

You touched my heart at its first beat.

You made my face as a Star to shine like the Sun of your love.

My star fades…it fades into self-doubting oblivion.

And I just want you to know it is not your fault.

My star must learn to shine on its own. To give light to others. To find a path and show a path and be a path.

You were my Light. Now I am my light.

Mothers of mothers shine through me.

Paths of paths run their course in my veins.

My soul has voices of angelic muses singing arias to me.

I’ll learn these songs one day.

But right now, I’ve lost my voice.

Right now, I can’t hit those notes.

Right now, I’ve lost the beat.

Drum it into my soul. Let me never forget.

Give me ears to hear and eyes to see.

Pound out the blocks between you and me

so that one day I can see you and you can see me and we

will be Women.

About heathencomehome

question marks & ellipses
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

